Genesis 12:1-3, ” The Lord had said to Abram, “Go from your country, your people and your father’s household to the land I will show you. I will make you into a great nation, and I will bless you; I will make your name great and you will be a blessing. I will bless those who bless you, and whoever curses you i will curse; and all the peoples on earth will be blessed through you”

Abram represents us in this situation. God asks him to uproot his entire life, leaving his family, home, wealth, and resources, to give it all up and trust that He will provide, and Abram went. That required a great deal of trust of his faith in God. When God calls upon us, to do things such as this, we are not being called to a place, but being called to our King. I call this a, “gospel call.” He doesn’t call us to do the hard things to watch us suffer and teach us a lesson, but He calls on us so that He can receive the glory because we do it for Him. That is why we are on this earth, to bring God glory. So if the bible says God knows what’s best for us, and we say God  knows what’s best for us, why don’t we always trust him?

As humans we are constantly searching for security, and because we are prone to sin, we find it in things of this earth. In truth, we have no need for earthly security because we have eternal security in the gospel. Once we find that security in the gospel, we begin to trust God.

Going back to Abram, God used him in two ways. First, He used Abrams trust to bless him personally. Second, He blessed Abram so that he could bless the rest of the world. So basically, God blesses us in two ways- personally and globally.

1: Personal Blessings- God blesses us so that have the ability to bring Him glory.

2: Global Blessings- God uses the ability He gives us to bless the rest of the world, through us.

Now, like I have previously stated, we are human. We make mistakes. Because of sin we are prone to self-righteousness. Given that, we need to caution ourselves so that we don’t take the blessings, God so graciously gives us, and turn them into self-serving blessings(instead of using the blessings to serve God, we use them to serve ourselves). We begin to say, “I deserve it” when in reality we deserve hell. (apologies for being so harsh, but it’s a bitter truth we all must face)

This particular passage has impacted my life greatly in this hectic season of change. Learning to let go and trust God to take control has always been something that I struggle with, but whenever I struggle I turn to the Word. I hope that you can draw a sense of peace, security, and trust from this passage. Like I said, “we have eternal security in the gospel,” so why wouldn’t we turn to it in our time of need?

If you have any prayer requests or blog requests, please leave them in the comments or contact me through my email.

Sincerely,

Liv.

